Travel issues and other unforeseen events conspired to reduce the field attending this years National Airgun championships. Despite all these obstacles and the introduction of a new booking system, attendance was better than expected with ten people taking part in the air pistol event and twenty-six in the Air rifle.

Paul Flanagan of Rathdrum Rifle and Pistol Club finished first in the Air Pistol event after a very close final with only two points separating the top three finalists. Ray Kane of the Defence Forces Shooting Team won the Men's Air Rifle having takenĀ  a commanding lead of twenty-five points into the final whilst Susan Cunningham of Wilkinstown Target Shooting Club was the winner of the Women'sĀ  Air Rifle event.

Joe Conroy of Fermoy Rifle Club was second in the Air Pistol followed closely by John O'Brien of Rathdrum Rifle and Pistol Club. John Lancaster of UCD Rifle Club came second in the Men's Air Rifle despite spending a considerable portion of his time attending to the needs of his club members and Sean Baldwin of the Defence Forces Shooting Team came third.

In the Women's Air Rifle Susan Cunningham never lost her composure in the final, holding first place through each shot and was followed closely in second and third place by her sisters Laura and Paula respectively, making it both a Wilkinstown and a Cunningham 1, 2, 3.

The medal winners: Air Pistol

Men's Air Rifle

Women's Air Rifle

The NTSA wish to thank UCD Rifle Club for hosting the event and providing their range for the weekend. A great many people helped out and for this we are extremely grateful. The next National championships are the 25 yard rifle events at Rathdrum from 29th April.

For full results click here.